Brave New Worlds

December 31, 2009 § Leave a comment

About a year ago I mentioned to one of my IT technician colleagues that I would like to one day, move to my wordpress.com blog to my own domain name and wordpress install. I was keen to improve the theme appearance, functionality and personalisation offered by your own install, but I am not going to mislead anyone, there was a little professional vanity/motivation in there too. It was just a case of time and learning how to set up the MySQL database and purchasing Kristianstill.co.uk/ for the princely fee of £5 or so. Well, Santa delivered two emails this year, the first told me to visit www.kristianstill.co.uk, here I found an old avatar pic of myself and message ‘Click on me to enter my WordPress blog.’ The second email issued me with the link to my admin account, username and password. What a fantastic gesture, thank you.

So 2009 ends with our family back in our nearly renovated home, at new desktop PC, in our new guest bedroom/home office and theming and importing my old wordpress content to my brand new blog. With the support and generosity of my colleague, I now have www.kristianstill.co.uk to record, reflect and share my ICT journey in 2010. What a great way to see out the noughties. Now home, with connectivity (hurrah) I cant wait to find, test and trial new ICT with colleagues and students and share our finding through this blog…. talking of which have you seen Shrink Pic – Free photo resizer for email, IM, blogging and web galleries. Basically Shrink Pic runs in the background. It has a taskbar icon which tells you it’s waiting for photos to be sent and compresses pictures as you send them to your chosen destination.

The next step is to learn how to either direct Kristianstill.co.uk directly to the blog or creating a really fancy splash page…. I am not sure which yet….

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Brave New Worlds at Middle Leadership and ICT Teaching.

meta

